United States Travel Ban

The Supreme Court of the United States has upheld the so-called “Trump Travel Ban.” The ban prevents immigration authorities from issuing most types of visas to nationals of Iran, Yemen, North Korea, Somalia, Syria, Libya, and Venezuela. On June 26, 2018, voting 5 to 4, the Supreme Court ruled that the US President has the authority to ban citizens of certain countries travel to the United States. Thus, the President’s travel ban remains in effect.

Alicia Morgan - Immigration Lawyers USA

For you and your family members, the SCOTUS ruling means the following:

  1. Some types of visa can still be issued to nationals of some of these countries, but the administrative procedure has been made so difficult that it discourages potential applicants from applying.

  2. The ban doesn’t affect US citizens and US Green Card holders who are also nationals of the listed countries.

  3. The scope of the ban is not the same for citizens of all the seven countries. Certain visas are available for citizens of some of the countries. For example, F, M, and J visas are available for Iranians. To make sure that you qualify to apply for the type of visa you desire, call us to scheduled a strategy session.

  4. There are exceptions for dual nationals with one of the citizenships other than those from the listed countries.

  5. There is a waiver process that could allow some people in the US on a case-to-case basis; but so far, the waiver approval rate is only 2%.

In sum, the Trump Travel Ban is still alive. While that is not good news, the exceptions and the waiver process give some hope that there may be a way to gain entrance to the US, after all. Call us at 305-501-0783 to schedule an Immigration Strategy Session, and we will determine your chances of a successful US visa application.

#travelban #immigration #aliciamorgan #Trumpimmigration #trumptravelban

Featured Posts
Recent Posts